And the painting goes on

Hi, everyone!

As always, it’s been a madhouse here. But, wishing the hectic roller coaster would stop and let me off isn’t an option.  I’ve signed up for the ride so I’m stuck until it comes to a full and complete stop. So I’m just trying to keep my hands and arms inside the vehicle until then.

I know I keep swearing that I’m going to get started with my eBay items again. And I am. I promise. Eventually. Please keep checking. It will happen. Let me know you’re looking and not finding anything and that will help to spur me. Of course, if you’re wanting something now, you can always go to my website and see what’s available. It’s hard right now though. I had a style I was working toward and had a lot of great comments on and good sales. However, it wasn’t something I could see myself doing for 60 years. So now I’m working on painting more traditional landscapes but I find myself stuck and able only to “paint by numbers.” Okay, so that’s an exaggeration, but it feels like it. I’m suddenly worried that I’ll never pull away from this student work and “find myself” again. So then I’m forcing myself to experiment, and let me tell you that’s working out so well– NOT! The level that my sarcasm has reached should tell you just how bad it is. Okay, I’m breathing now. I swear I’m just trying some things out, trying to adapt my old style with all the techniques I know now. It’s got me a little frazzled. Much like children that won’t go to sleep when they are told.

Here’s a piece that was finished a little while ago.  More will be posted here as soon as I get them downloaded from my camera.

Waterfall

Oh yes, I’m still painting away. Not getting things done as quickly as I always hope I will. More like the turtle than the hare in this race. It doesn’t help that I’ve spent a large amount of time repainting canvases too. It seems like for every painting I finish, I start 3 over, hiding their atrocities under a thick layer of gesso.  But compared to photography, I’m doing well — there it’s for every 1 picture I keep, I have 50 more in the back files never to be seen. It’s all relative!

Until next time….

Leave a Reply

