Twitter

I have to admit that when I signed up for Twitter, I wasn’t sure about it, wasn’t sure if I’d like it. I mean, really, how interesting is my life and what I do. However, I’ve already met some really interesting people and it’s been awesome interacting with them, getting insights into their lives. It’s how you really get to know people.

On to other things. Yesterday I went to Barnes & Noble and was reading an art magazine. There was a comic of a blank canvas on a palette. At first I didn’t really focus on it, but when I did, I saw this artist cowering in a darkened corner.  If you’ve read my previous post regarding hypergraphia, then you know that I never understood what it meant for a writer to have writer’s block when looking at  a blank page. That never happened to me. I always had words just waiting to get out. However, since I’ve taken up painting, I understand about artist block and fearing the blank canvas. I can see now why so many people paint their canvases any color but white before they start. To me though, it’s merely a canvas of another color then and still just as blank. And, after I’ve started splashing on paint I get to a point where I absolutely hate it. I know that if I feel like I should just paint the canvas all white again and start over that I’ve got a gem on my hands. If I don’t have that moment of fear where I feel like I’ve wasted a bunch of time and paint, then I’m not pushing the painting hard enough. It’s that moment of worry that gives me the courage to go on. The sign that tells me my intuition is on track. I very much believe it’s true that if the dream or the goal gives you no fear, then the goal isn’t big enough. That poor cowering artist in the comic, if he’d only realize that his fear means he’s on the right path, then he might have the courage to begin his masterpiece.

Leave a Reply

