What a Monday!

Okay, it’s been a day. I won’t go into all of it, but it’s been a Monday oh so totally.

Woke up to a couple inches of snow, not that it was unexpected. But today, everyone and their dog decided to drop their kids off at school. Traffic was backed up a whole block. I couldn’t get the boys any closer to school than I usually do unless I wanted to be stuck in traffic for at least half an hour.

Then, I had to pick the boys up right before school got out for an appointment. I was waiting for my oldest and when he showed up, I was irritated and ranting at him for taking so long as we left the school. I walked right in front of the buses lined up for students and out to where cars were coming in and slipped on the ice. My son tried to step around me, but slid himself. He worked very hard to not fall on top of me.  In the process, so I would learn a bit later, he ripped his shoe in half during the fall. Ripped the bottom right off. And the other shoe had a smaller tear in it. I couldn’t believe the shoes just blew out like that.

Then I get home and start reading the news and see that the Twitter accounts were hacked in the same weekend that I signed up for the account. That is so my luck!

But, I count my blessings. If this is the extent of the drama in my life, then I am very fortunate. There’s so much going on in the world. I know that people are all wanting to know about the death of John Travolta’s son and read about the details of Madonna’s divorce. In my own town, I know of a woman who just walked out on her husband and kids. In another family, there was a girl (the same age as my youngest son) that died of hypothermia on Christmas day when her father let her and her brother out of their stranded car to walk home to their mother. The brother who barely survived the incident shares many classes with my son. Today was the first day back at school after the holidays. I asked my son if the brother was there and he wasn’t, which I thought was good. I couldn’t imagine being that mother waiting for school to get out knowing that one of her children was coming home while the other would never walk through the door again. Yet the whole world (according to a news statement I heard this morning) was going to be mourning the loss of Jett Travolta. No, sorry. While I am sorry that the Travolta’s lost a child, I feel less sympathy for Jett knowing that he lived a life of privilage than I have for an underprivelaged child who died in the snow long before she should have because of an intoxicated stupid moment on the part of her father – the person who should loved and protected her the most. Appreciate the people around you because you never know when they will be taken from this life. I very much believe in John Edwards’ saying of “Appreciate, communicate, and validate.” Sorry, I have probably ranted on about this longer than I should have, but it’s been nagging at me for a week, even before I knew much my children knew the little girl and her brother, but my heart goes out to this family. It makes me wonder why people can spend so much time caring about the Brad – Angelina – Jen triangle when we have so many lives around us that are not so far removed and that we should be caring about.

Don’t even get me started on most of the brain rot they call good television!

Okay, next time: more art, less depression! Just wanted to let you all know that I do stick my head up out of the sand sometimes!

Leave a Reply

