Impulse shopping

Yes, I made an impulse purchase today. I was wondering around the store looking for a bag of ice melt since there’s an inch or two on my lawn – it’s so high it goes up the little step-up on my porch and nearly all the way to my front door. That’s when I saw it. A little bonsai tree.

I bought a bonsai tree once when I was coming back from L.A. I think it got stressed on the trip because it didn’t live much after I got it home. Poor thing.

So, I’m trying it again. My oldest son was so scared I’d drop it. “Carry it with both hands,” he said. Like I would drop it! Geez, it’s not like I ever dropped him. Well, okay, there was this once… (Just kidding!)

I’ve been told that some of my trees on my ACEO’s look like bonsai trees. True. I’ve always liked bonsai. Maybe that’s what draws me into Japanese art too. There’s a serenity to Japanese art. I’ve got a poster of Katsushika Hokusai’s woodblock painting of Mt. Fuji hanging in my room. Just looking at it brings me a great sense of peace and I’m glad that it’s the last thing I see at night and the first thing I see in the morning. It helps to remind me that it’s the same peace I want to bring to my audience. I hope it’s what I achieve. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

