Learning more about painting

It’s true that writers write and painters paint. It’s how one grows when one practices a craft. There’s always going to be the wanna-be’s out there that say they write or paint, but the proof is in the pudding so to speak. Sometimes it’s hard to stand before a blank canvas and start to throw paint at it. Other times, you get into a painting and realize something is wrong with it but you can’t quite put your finger on it. Same with a manuscript. It’s then that it’s best to go and get an outside opinion.

That’s what I’ve had to do with my latest painting. I took it and showed it to my best friend and one of my collectors. Both agreed that it seemed like the painting needed a V8 as it seemed a bit crooked. Strange but as I worked on fixing the crooked issue, I realized that it had a negative space issue. Now, once you’ve figured out what the issue is, it’s still not always guarenteed that you can fix it. I look at the painting and I can still tell that there’s a negative space issue. Do I think I’m good enough to fix it? I’m not certain. It’s paralyzing, this feeling. Can I give this painting what it needs? Am I bold enough to make sweeping strokes if I need to? Do I dare flush the bottom part of this canvas and start again? Maybe I just need a renewed outside opinion.

Work in process photos are out at Facebook. Why don’t you head on over there and take a look? Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

