Art collector? Join the growing number!

I was reading a newsletter the other day and came across this passage by Star Noble:

“There has never been a better time in history to be an artist in today’s market. There are droves of people jumping into the art collecting arena. It’s no longer a passion and hobby reserved for the rich and I predict the number of collectors will continue to grow by leaps and bounds. Why? Because it has never been easier to search, find, research and buy… and buy right. God bless the internet!”

I couldn’t help smiling. Felt a bit inspired by it too! Sometimes it’s easy to feel overwhelmed as an artist. You look around and all you see are other artists. Does no one want to be a doctor or lawyer anymore? But seriously, it isn’t until you start that you notice everyone else around you with the thing. For example, I didn’t notice how many Chevy Impala’s there were until I bought one. Now I notice them everywhere. The more I look, the more I find. The same is with art. It seems like there are so many artists.

So, this passage reminds me to stay with my own vision, develop my own art. Following someone else wouldn’t be walking my own journey. My art has to be my art. In the looking, I see people with varied styles and so many of them are copies of someone else — usually someone who’s a gallery artist and featured in art magazines. But my thoughts on voice will have to come in another post.

This is for the person who wants to start collecting art but doesn’t feel educated enough. How would they possibly know who to buy? Let me help you make it simple on yourself. Buy art that you enjoy. Period. That simple. If it inspires you and you want to look at it, if it makes you feel something positive, stirs something that you can’t quite name, then buy it before you lose it. Can’t afford it? Many artists provide prints of their art or would be more than happy to provide a print if you simply ask. Some artists, including myself, also offer payment plans. This isn’t always well advertised. If you ask, you have a 50/50 chance of the answer being a “yes.” If you don’t ask, it’ll be a “no” 100% of the time.

You can always start small too. Many artists sell Artist Cards Editions and Originals (ACEO’s) on eBay or Etsy, usually for low prices. This is a great place to start building an art collection without a whole lot of risk. You can buy a piece or two from an artist and wait to see if their value grows. If they don’t, then you still have a beautiful piece of art (you bought it because you enjoyed it, right!). If the artist gains success, your investment gains value. Either way, you win!

I urge you. Go forth, find art you enjoy, and surround yourself with it. Happy collecting!

2 Responses to Art collector? Join the growing number!

  1. Liz Crain says:

    Hi Dawn
    You make some nice points in this post! I think is it good to remind all of us that we should both make and collect art because of love and enjoyment and this is far ahead of creating, buying and selling for any other reason. Thanks.

    • dawnblair says:

      Thanks for your comment, Liz. I need to remember to post some of the art I purchase too. I had this thought after I put this post up. I think that would be fun to show others who I’m collecting too.

Leave a Reply

