Finally, some pictures

Leave it to me to get to a conference and suddenly remember that I should’ve brought my camera. Ever happen to you? I’m sure it has.

I had just reached the hotel where the Idaho Writers League conference was being held when I had a thought that I should’ve brought my camera.

Fortunately, Larry Telles from the Coeur d’Alene chapter had more foresight than I did and he brought his camera. I begged him to e-mail me some pictures and he said he would. I promptly forgot about it at that point. Again, ever happen to you?

So one day last week I’m checking my post office box and there’s a package inside. I didn’t remember ordering anything, especially something from northern Idaho. Maybe someone’s sending my book, The Write Edit, back to me and telling me what a pile it is — you know, my mind instantly going to the worst case scenario. You too, huh?

No, instead it was pictures of the conference all on a nice DVD, case and everything. Let me tell you, I was impressed. I expected Larry to send a handful of pictures via e-mail and that would be it. I certainly had not thought he’d send this. Wow! Just recently I was reading The Go-Giver by John David Mann and when I received Larry’s DVD, I thought of the section in the book about giving more than was expected. Let me say again, Wow! Thank you, Larry!

Now I’d like to share some of Larry’s pictures with you:

Convention Center for 2009 Idaho Writers League Conference

Convention Center for 2009 Idaho Writers League Conference
© 2009 Larry Telles


Idaho Writers League conference theme

Idaho Writers League conference theme
© 2009 Larry Telles

Strange how the theme for my first writers’ conference was “Paint with Words” since I’m now painting and writing. I loved it.

My workshop:

Sherri George doing Dawn's introduction

Sherri George introducing Dawn Blair
Idaho Writers League Conference
© 2009 Larry Telles


Dawn Blair at IWL Conference 2009

Dawn Blair
Idaho Writers League Conference
© 2009 Larry Telles

Sherri and I have been friends for a long time, so I was glad that she did my introduction. Now here’s a picture of Sherri as her wonderful alter ego.

Sherri George as Sister Victoria

Sherri George as Sister Victoria
Idaho Writers League conference
© 2009 Larry Telle

My first workshop at a writers’ conference went well. At least I didn’t pass out. Though there was once, probably right after Larry snapped this shot and I became conscious of the audience, I felt a sudden spinning of the room. But I stayed on my feet. Whew! That would’ve been bad. Grin! Seriously thought, it was a lot of fun to give the workshop and I hope to do more in the future. I’ve been wanting to do a writers’ conference since the first one I attended, so this was a dream come true. I’m glad I could share the moment with through through a few pictures.

Leave a Reply

