Preparing for 2010

I like to do something special to usher in the new year. Last night, my boys and I celebrated the eve of the last day of the year. We stayed up to midnight to see in the last day of 2009 (Okay, yes, we’re an odd threesome, but we enjoy ourselves).

Today I’ve been out catching up on some of my favorite blogs, listening to their ideas for the new year. Sue Smith has inspired me to rip up some of my old paintings tonight. And I laughed with Ren Adams who has a view on life very similar to my own.

Tonight, New Year’s Eve, I’ll do something to help focus on my goals for the new year. You’ve heard me talk about my goals for 2010. Not resolutions. Like Ren, I don’t do resolutions. Resolving to do something means you were fighting with it in the first place and now have to fix it, that a rule has to come into place to make you conform.

People hate the term “goals” too. Some say that you shouldn’t have goals because if you fail, then it does nothing but cause guilt. Don’t resolutions do the same thing? The little voice yells at you when you don’t live up to your end of the bargain.

I’ve heard it said that instead of goals, they should be intentions — that way if you what you want to happen doesn’t, then it just wasn’t meant to be. Sure, blame the higher power for the misfortune in your life! Don’t get me wrong. I do believe everything happens for a reason even if we can’t see it at the moment. But if I intent to lose weight and I keep shoving chocolate in my mouth, who’s to blame for me not meeting my intention? Me!

So, I’ll keep using my term of “goals.” Yes, I set goals. If I don’t make it to the mark, at least I ran the race. And, it’s fair play if I start running the race and change direction. If I take a wrong turn, it’s only smart to turn around and get back on track. The same can be said for chasing the wrong goal. It’s okay to change goals. We do all the time. Think about the four-year old who wants to be a nurse, or a cowgirl, or an actress. Sometimes you just have to try on different suits to see what fits you the best.

My own favorite ritual (which isn’t original) is to go into the new year doing what I’d like to be doing for the next year. Like magic, it helps me focus and guide the subconscious.

Well, I have a few more hours left in 2009 to work on the plans behind my goals for 2010. Having made my goals earlier in the year, I have several things already in place toward those goals, but there’s still some more planning to go on some. After all, without that plan, you’re just letting life happen to you. Instead of just intending on having a life, gather the strength inside yourself to live the life you want to live.

2 Responses to Preparing for 2010

  1. I think you have a fabulous outlook on life, progression, growth, and personal experience. Entering a new phase doing what we love doing seems like a great way to set the stage for continued joy. I’ll have to try that myself tonight. 🙂

    I also thought it was very endearing that you guys said goodbye to the last full day of 2009. Who does that? Not enough people, I think. We should celebrate each day. And the last day of 2009 is special in its own way. 🙂

    • dawnblair says:

      Thanks, Ren. I’m always pushing myself to be better. Doesn’t always work (because when I screw it up, it’s bad! But then, failure is nothing but a learning experience.)

      My family has so pretty strange “traditions” but when other people hear about them, they think it’s neat. I’ll have to blog about some of our other “traditions” at some point. It’s always fun to think outside the box, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

