Make it personal!

I hope you’ve had time to think about the last post and how something as simple as a profile can win or lose you a sale.

But writing about yourself can be worse than writing 500 words on being a backpack (ask me about that story sometime!).

Let me ask you a question and really think about it for a moment… do you love your creative art passion?

Of course you do! If you didn’t, you wouldn’t have stuck around reading this blog as long as you have and maybe shared a laugh or two with me. If you didn’t, you’d be content in your day job without knowing that it’s what supports your art. If you didn’t, you wouldn’t be practising your craft trying to get better at it. That said, let me assure you that you have the creative ability to write a good profile.

Dawn Blair is an arist, bookkeeper, mom, photographer, and sometime author. She has been painting for 8 years and selling at shows for the last 3 years. Blah, blah, blah.

Does it tell something about me? At least it lets you know I’m at least 9 years old and I’m a female. Does it bore you? Oh heck yes!!! Did you even read to the end or did you skip through it? My bet is that you didn’t read it or it didn’t stick with you. Chances are even good that when I asked if it bored you, you went back to reread it! Yeah, come on, admit it. I won’t tell.

Now what if I said: Dawn Blair remembers being four years old when her mom first asked her, “What came first: the chicken or the egg?” “The nest,” Dawn replied without hesitation because without the nest the chicken wouldn’t have come along to make the egg. She also knew the pecking mean hen guarding her nest, but loved gathering the farm-fresh eggs while they were still warm.

Can you see it? Does it give you insight into my life? I hope so. It’s a nugget from my life to share with my audience. I’ve worked on variations of this for years trying to perfect it because I feel it shows my “outside the box” imagination.

Insights create bonds. But don’t just take my word for it. Here’s a site where you really feel like you get to know the company’s team. The first two are the owners and they try to get outside the box. Their team however really get into it. I do work with this company and I’ve felt like I knew them even as I was just starting to work with their support team. Sharing a laugh via their About page had build my trust with them (and in them) right from the start. I knew I was working with people, not a faceless voice.

Following a word of warning about my next recommendation. She can be a little intense and some people might find Naomi off-putting, but read the About page for IttyBiz. I absolutely adore the picture of the “Not-So-Silent Partner” in their venture. Does that smile not make you want to trust these people, to read more about what they do?

So what’s your favorite (or not so favorite story) that your family tells about you? If they find the story interesting to tell, then it already sparks an emotional cord and is probably neat to hear about. My dad loves to tell a story about my eating Tabasco sauce at a restaurant one evening. Not my favorite. My face always turns red when he tells it to someone. Why is it that I have so many stories from when I was 4 years old? Unfortunately, I remember these incidents too! Yep, I can picture my dad laughing about it now.

Take that story gem and run with it. Make it the core of your profile. Let people in on the emotion with you. Everyone wants to share a good time. Have one. Be your creative self and enjoy that memory.

As for the Tabasco sauce incident, well let’s just say that while my youngest son eats Tapatio like it was runny ketchup, I know my limit on spices and I stop long before the heat of Tabasco sauce. One drop of that stuff and a gallon of water later, I’m still blowing steam out my ears. I’ll also let my dad keep telling that story. He does it so much better! I’ll just stand aside and light up like a red Christmas bulb.

Leave a Reply

