Never Good Enough?

I know I’ve written before how I like to jump into things and sink or swim rather than starting out with the basics and advancing from there. But at some point, I always have to go back and get the basics under my belt so I can more on and that’s very frustrating to me.

How many others like to “Sink or swim?” No, really, I want to know. What have you jumped right into? Where were you brave beyond belief? Or have you always gotten the proper lessons and done things in order? How has either way served you?

Do you believe that you’re a better or worse artist for progressing along or just seeing if you can do it or not without the proper skills first? Comment now!

I believe we all feel like we’re never good enough and sometime we have to venture outside our box to get better at something. I came across a quote this week that I’d like to share with you:

Risk more than others think is safe. Care more than others think is wise. Dream more than others think is practical. Expect more than others think is possible.” — Cadet Maxim

Why did this strike me? Let’s take a closer look and you can tell me if I’m off my rocker or not.

Risk more than others think is safe: This to me is the jump in and sink or swim. Don’t wait until you “know everything.” That’s not ever going to happen. I will never be perfect, but I have to get my creative ventures out. I have to start or I’ll never go. It doesn’t have to be good, it just has to be in process. I can always fix things later.

Care more than others think is wise: Of all of them, this is the hardest for me. I do care about my art and sometimes I want it to be perfect before anyone else sees it. I work hard at making it the best I can (which sometimes it still fails). I care about the details. I know someone else will own my art and I want them to have something that will have value. I see too many artists mass producing a product and I wonder if they even care about what value it will have for the buyer or if it’s just to line their own pockets now. I wonder if I’m doing enough to make sure my work is preserved for the ages. I always wish I knew more about this subject. And I always want people to be happy with the pieces of mine that they have.

Dream more than others think is practical: I love to daydream and think of new things to do and try. I’m a tinkerer in many ways. If something isn’t quite right, I’ll play with it to see what happens. Too often though I forget that it takes layers to see results and sometimes things build slowly. I want to see immediate results because that’s what I saw in my daydream. But I have learned to set smaller goals and watch them grow over time rather than setting my sights on the one big goal and feeling like it’s floundering. Not saying this has been easy though.

Expect more than others think is possible: Again, big dreamer that I am, I’m always expecting more and being irritated when it doesn’t arrive. But this doesn’t say to expect more than “I” think is possible, it says “others.” How often is the starving artist mentality spoken of? Yet, is it possible to make money from art? Yes it is! I had some fun playing with numbers this week and just pretended with data I had on my art in regards to the ACEO’s I sell on eBay. If I actually believed I could duplicate this success (assuming I could do nothing but create ACEO’s all day) I found that I could actually make a living do it. The numbers astonished me. Is it realistic though? I don’t know. Now I’m back to trying to expect more than I think is possible — a much more difficult task.

Overall, I hope I never feel like I’m good enough. I want to keep striving to get better. I want to keep risking more than others because it puts me ahead of others who “want to” do something, but never actually get around to “doing it!” I hope you feel you’re in the game too. I hope you keep striving to be better. And if you are, raise your hand and let me know you’re out there. I want to follow your success too. We’ll keep risking, caring, dreaming, and expecting together!

Leave a Reply

