Evening Flight

It has been one of those weeks and I didn’t know if I was going to have a painting or not.

You’d think that after a three day weekend, I’d have plenty of time. Yep, that’s what I thought. Oh well, I guess other things needed to be done instead.

I’d thought about writing a “What happened to the painting?” blog, but then on the way home I was listening to Dan Miller’s newest podcast and he talks about commitment and being dedicated to something for your business, making it habit no matter what. DANG!

Okay, so my evening was free. So I started painting.

Maybe subconsciously I was afraid of this painting. After all, it has the same kind of messy, cloudy sky the last painting was supposed to have. That, and there’s geese.

Last year I painted a deer just to prove to myself that I could do it. When I was in high school, the only thing I could draw with some resemblance of what it was supposed to be was a duck. So painting a goose, how hard could that be.

I didn’t take any progress photos of the painting this time. But let’s just say that I still need to work on those cloudy skies. My geese — those are a story in and of themselves.

I got them sketched in, hated every one, so I just told myself to paint carefully and smalled than they were drawn. Okay. I got them underpainted. Then they needed to dry. I sat down to start writing this blog.

That’s when a soft knock came to my door. I thought it was the boys coming home, so I stupidly answered it. Nope, it was a salesman. He spoke so softly that I could barely hear him, except to repeat over and over that his boss was in the car. He wanted to come into my house. Here I am in my painting apron, covered in paint, paint on my hands, obviously I’ve been busy. Besides, a salesman in my house. Do I look stupid? Not in this day and age. I told him I have a no solicitation sign on my door. Granted it’s small and faded. “Oh, really?” he asks while I slide back inside and lock my door. Damn, next time just remind me to call the cops. I’m so tired of door-to-door salesman. Especially near 9:00 at night.

Anyway, now my geese are still needing to dry and my whole groove has been thrown off. I sit back down to my blog and happened to go back to see what I did last time. Guess what? I notice that my blog that was supposed to post on Sunday didn’t! Now I’m frustrated. My tags and categories aren’t there even though I fully remember adding them. I even grabbed the shortlink to put into another blog, so I’m sure it posted. Good grief. As if social networking hadn’t been the bane of my existence since the previous Friday! But I won’t go into that. That blog is now set to post tomorrow.

Well, it looks like my geese are now dry. I should have some time left before the boys get home, so I’m going to go see if I can finish up this painting. Be right back.

Halfway through these geese and I’m wondering what I think I’m doing. Why did I think that these birds would be easy? They look easy. So I change tactics and tell myself to loosen up a bit. I keep working. Soon, they are finished and I’m fairly happy with how my first up-close geese came out.

What do you think?

Evening Flight

Now, let’s hope that this week flows a bit better than the last. Next time: Winter Delight. It looks like another messy, cloudy sky. Third times the charm? We can hope!

One Response to Evening Flight

  1. […] just not as ‘wah!’ as the last one you did.” Both boys took a look at last week’s painting and were impressed — this one, not so much. As I reflect on it, I see that my fence is […]

Leave a Reply

