Learning Lunch

I just had a most fascinating lunch.

Strangely, it’s a lunch that added a new dimension to my thinking. Let me step back and explain.

Since I also work a full-time job in addition to working on my artistic career, I always feel my limited time is extremely precious. Extremely precious! I don’t play games on Facebook and I try to avoid things that aren’t in my focus. Okay, my one fault is that I do like watching tv with my children and we probably spend far too much time doing that. I like to know what they are watching (making sure it’s appropriate) and we have a lot of discussions about life based on what we’re watching. I hate stupid tv; I’d rather watch something that someone has put some thought into rather than watching what dumb things people will do or how they… Wait! I’m not ranting about that! Maybe another time.

Okay, back to topic.

My lunch time is one of those things I value. Except for the occasional lunch with a friend, I want to spend my lunch alone — preferably with food that is quick and easy. Normally, I spend the time reading or meditating (after eating of course), or painting, or writing — something.

Today, as I said previously, was different.

Today I’m off work (All praise the day after tax day! I do think it’s become my favorite holiday). Anyway, I was making myself a sweet potato for lunch and as I heard the microwave announce that it was done, I wondered what I was going to do while I ate. I’ve been writing and doing housework most of the morning, so should I take a break and sit down and watch something (oh no, more tv!). I decided I really didn’t want to do that. I didn’t feel like reading.

Quite frankly, I wanted to use my time efficiently. After all, that’s what I’ve trained myself to do.

I decided to work on a tutorial. I’m in the middle of learning something new. Sorry, I can’t say what I’m learning at this moment, but let’s just say that I am trying something out to see if I like it or not. I have a shiny new curriculum for what I’m working on, but I haven’t had time to sit down yet and start going through it. I knew today was going to be the day for Lesson One, but I didn’t realize my lunch time was about to become part of the moment.

After fixing up my potato, I realized that I really wanted to work on the tutorial now. As I went back to my office, I said to myself, “I’m going to have a Learning Lunch.” <>

But as I sat down and called up what I was going to work on, I realized that I do try to have Learning Lunches every day. I’m always spending the time reading or learning something whether its something about myself or my art. This time is valuable to me. It’s just never been so formal in my heart as it was today.

It will be a tradition I continue.

How about you?

Leave a Reply

