Art in the Park

I got a call a little over a week ago and was asked to be the Featured Artist for Art in the Park in Twin Falls coming up this weekend on July 14th and 15th. Needless to say, I’m still waiting to wake from the dream and find someone has taken my cookie away. LOL! I’m still in shock.

Really, this is proof that if you keep moving in the direction of your dream, doors will open. I didn’t figure I’d be a featured artist for another 5 or 10 years. Really!

On the bright side, it has lit a fire under me like nothing else.

In the last week alone, I’ve finished 4 worthy paintings, several more that aren’t great quality but might inspire other paintings so they haven’t been painted over yet, got a bunch of backgrounds done, and have a huge painting half finished on my easel right now. I’d like to share with you a couple of my current works in progress.

Lanterns

Lanterns
Acrylic on canvas
©2012 Dawn Blair

I love the natural and man-made lanterns in this picture. To me, it’s kind of symbolic of an artist’s journey where we try so desperately to create life from nothing, trying to duplicate what the Universe does normally. Okay, enough of that!

I keep going back and touching up this painting, but I believe I have finally finished it. Next week it’ll be all framed up and prepared for Art in the Park.

Here’s a piece still on the easel. The sides are already painted black so it’ll be a simple matter of wiring it up to hang. It’s 18×36. Beneath it is one of the last airbrush paintings I attempted before getting frustrated and deciding to learn how to actually paint with a brush. I’ve looked at that canvas for years debating whether or not to cover it up or finish it. When I started this piece, I didn’t even cover up the old painting first — I just started painting over the top. Since the first painting was actually hanging portrait style and this is landscape format, the shapes from the previous painting came through as shadows and gave support for building this painting. I’m actually fairly excited about this piece, even though it made my arm ache all night long from doing two coats of blended colors. Message received from the Universe on that: don’t stop painting again! Got it, message over loud and clear!

Here it is:

Untitled (at the time of this writing)
Acrylic on wrapped canvas
©2012 Dawn Blair

So, there’s some new work. It’s good to be painting again, especially after having to admit to a collector of my work that nearly everything currently listed on my website was already sold. What can I say? I’ve been writing like a manic on Sacred Knight. But now with this new development, I feel like I’ve come into a new balance between writing and painting — after all, with needing paintings for Art in the Park and an audience hungry for book two of the Sacred Knight series, I’m having to learn how to do both. Now, if I could just find a way to get back to the graphic novels too, I’d be happy camper! I hear Weblinks calling me and I really want to get back to that too.

Sleep? Who needs sleep? I’m having too much fun!

One Response to Art in the Park

  1. Ted says:

    Article writing is also a excitement, if you know after that you can write otherwise it is complex to write.

Leave a Reply

