Unbroken

It’s really not uncommon for me to hear “the voice of inspiration” talking to me. Often I think I’ll be doing one thing but I am guided to do something else. For example, right now I really want to be working on illustrating my children’s book, but here I am writing a long overdue blog post! 🙂 That’s my life.

So, when I woke one Sunday morning in January with the voice saying, “You are ready to finish the painting now,” I not only knew what project I’d unexpectedly be working on but what painting the voice was talking about.

Coincidence then that the next week one of my bosses walks into my office and asks me if I’m going to be participating in Art & Soul of Magic Valley? No! It was the little voice’s way of also giving me a deadline on my project.

I knew the painting wasn’t perfect and I’d had a lot of people looking at it over the years in which I had it displayed at art shows. But at the time, I really didn’t know what to do with it.

So here’s the original:

Unbroken - Original painting (pre-2015)

Unbroken – Original painting (pre-2015)

It’s a huge painting, well 4 feet across and almost 3 feet high. Putting this back on the easel was not a task I desired. I knew it was going to take some work. But fortune favors the brave.

Over the next few days, I’ll be releasing photos of the progression of this painting. If you’re near Twin Falls, Idaho, and want to see it now, stop by Ataraxis Accounting, 864 Filer Avenue, Twin Falls, to see it. Don’t forget to get out and vote for your favorite pieces in Art & Soul of Magic Valley by 2 p.m. on May 2, 2015. Winners are determined by votes, so it’s very important!

Leave a Reply

