Unbroken – progression of a painting #1

Just because I knew it was time to rework this painting and I had a deadline on it didn’t mean that it was easy to put it back on the easel. It wasn’t perfect, but what if I messed it up when I was revising it? Oil paint is more forgiving than other paint mediums because it takes so long to dry, but that didn’t mean I was not going to be successful with it.

At last, I had to take the plunge. Fortune favors the brave, right?

I started with the water since I knew it was what really needed to be fixed. Really, at this beginning stage, I figured I’d be redoing the water and touching up the falls.

Unbroken (progression) 48x30 oil on canvas Dawn Blair ©2015

Unbroken (progression)
48×30 oil on canvas
Dawn Blair ©2015

Now the water is much darker, but it’s so much better than it was. It does need light coming across it from the glow behind the mountains and that’s what I work on next.

Unbroken (progression) 48x30 oil on canvas Dawn Blair ©2015

Unbroken (progression)
48×30 oil on canvas
Dawn Blair ©2015

In putting the light in, I saw that I needed to revise the glow a bit, so I added more yellow to it. I also add more highlights to the clouds.

Unbroken (progression) 48x30 oil on canvas Dawn Blair ©2015

Unbroken (progression)
48×30 oil on canvas
Dawn Blair ©2015

Here’s a closeup of the glow and the falls.

Unbroken (progression) 48x30 oil on canvas Dawn Blair ©2015

Unbroken (progression)
48×30 oil on canvas
Dawn Blair ©2015

Art & Soul of Magic Valley is still going on. If you’re near Twin Falls, Idaho, and want to see it now, stop by Ataraxis Accounting, 864 Filer Avenue, Twin Falls, to see it. Don’t forget to get out and vote for your favorite pieces in Art & Soul of Magic Valley by 2 p.m. on May 2, 2015. Winners are determined by votes, so it’s very important!

Leave a Reply

