Progress on a Cloudy Start (5)

I really had been at a loss as to what to do with the painting. I had some suggestions, like adding little flowers in the foreground (Thanks, Patricia!). I still felt like it needed more. So I pulled the painting into Photoshop and tried some things out. What I discovered was that I needed to take out the tree to the right. Everything felt crowed with that tree. I’d already removed the castle and felt successful about that, but this involved the ground, the mountains, and the sky; could I be successful at correcting all that?

Nothing ventured, nothing gained, right?

Here’s the painting after the tree was removed.

A cloudy start (tree removed) Work in process Dawn Blair ©2015

A cloudy start (tree removed)
Work in process
Dawn Blair ©2015

I have to say that I’m amazed I actually got the tree removed.

You will notice the big X on the painting. It is a square canvas and my new idea required me to find these sloping lines. You’ll see that X a little bit more here in this closeup picture of the tree removed.

A cloudy start (closeup where tree was) Work in process Dawn Blair ©2015

A cloudy start (closeup where tree was)
Work in process
Dawn Blair ©2015

So what am I going to add? Here’s my sketch:

A cloudy start (new sketch) Work in process Dawn Blair ©2015

A cloudy start (new sketch)
Work in process
Dawn Blair ©2015

It’s a girl releasing a bird from a cage. The bird is flying off to the left side of the center of the X and the girl’s head is lined up on the extending right leg of the X. I feeling the energy in this piece now.

More to come soon.

 

Leave a Reply

