How does it feel to be on top of the world?

Progress pieces from my newest painting. It is an acrylic on a 48″x 30″ wrapped canvas.

Top of the World 48" x 30" acrylic on wrapped canvas Work in process #1 Dawn Blair ©2015

Top of the World
48″ x 30″ acrylic on wrapped canvas
Work in process #1
Dawn Blair ©2015

So at this point, I have the sky blocked in and I’m starting on the ground.

Top of the World 48" x 30" acrylic on wrapped canvas Work in process #2 Dawn Blair ©2015

Top of the World
48″ x 30″ acrylic on wrapped canvas
Work in process #2
Dawn Blair ©2015

Ground is now done and I’m working on the clouds.

Top of the World 48" x 30" acrylic on wrapped canvas Work in process #3 Dawn Blair ©2015

Top of the World
48″ x 30″ acrylic on wrapped canvas
Work in process #3
Dawn Blair ©2015

Clouds are done, or at least enough that I want to start putting in the lantern. I like how the sketch goes through the clouds – that was actually part of the post that I erased out because I didn’t like that section. Someday, I’ll do a similar piece and actually weave the post through the clouds – I think that would look great.

Top of the World 48" x 30" acrylic on wrapped canvas Work in process #3 closeup of lantern Dawn Blair ©2015

Top of the World
48″ x 30″ acrylic on wrapped canvas
Work in process #3 closeup of lantern
Dawn Blair ©2015

Here’s a closeup of the lantern,

I’m hoping to have this piece finished by Saturday for the Thousand Springs Festival. I got delayed a couple of days this week, so I feel a bit behind in my show preparation. Chances are that if I don’t have it done, I will probably take this painting with to me work on when the show is a little slow. If you’re in the southern Idaho area, stop by and check it out. Click the link above for more information on the Thousand Springs Festival. I’d love to see you there. If not, stay tuned because I’ll be posting more progress pictures tomorrow.

P.S. If you have an idea for the title of this piece or if you like Top of the World, leave me a note in the comment section!

Leave a Reply

