Quiet Lately

My brother  (Hi, Jim!) recently said to me that he can always tell when I make a new resolution with my blog. He implied that I would make a renewed commitment to it, then stop and there would be nothing for weeks.

He’s not wrong. He also doesn’t know the full story.

It’s a crazy cycle, and one that I’m sure you’ll find as familiar in whatever you do. I start really well, and then something happens to throw me off track. I kick myself for a few days/weeks/months/years then decide that I need to really commit to it again – this time “For Real!” as if it wasn’t the last time. I dig in and get things started again. Then, I get sick. Always! Without fail! That throws me off and my commitments once again get left by the wayside until I chide myself to get going again. Stupid cycle.

Well, I can’t continue on this way. It really has to stop. So, I’ve gone searching for a brain reboot. It’s made me quiet in a lot of areas of my life, my head included.  It’s said that it takes 21 days to start a new habit. I’ve been working on developing a few new habits to correct the course my life had been on.  And, I’ve been doing several of them for more than 21 days. I’m slowly adding more and more new habits now that I have older ones in place.

Result: A lot of my life has changed for the better.

Here’s one of them:

On February 24, 2015, I was talking to a guy studying to be a nurse practitioner and I found myself telling him about my “glory days” as a swimmer. I’ve put on 100 lbs. since those days. Yes, 100 pounds. I hated having pictures of me taken, something that’s really important in today’s age where selfies are being taken and shared all the time. I saw so many other artists and writers sharing their personal worlds with their audiences and I wanted to do it too, but it was hard because I was so ashamed of myself. In sitting here talking to this man 20 years younger than myself, I got really angry with myself. I had all sorts of excuses why I was overweight and I realized that I was putting off my life. I knew a line had to be drawn in the sand. So I did.

To date, I’ve lost 60 lbs., leaving me with 40 pounds to go. I’ve started drinking more water, another good habit in place. I’ve been writing regularly. And, I don’t get sick every single time someone with a sniffle gets around me.

Now that I have my health habits in line, I’m ready to get back my career habits. That includes my blog. I have been working on so many things and I can’t wait to share them with you. I hope you look forward to hearing about all of them. Let’s be on the way, shall we?

4 Responses to Quiet Lately

  1. Jim says:

    Hey there Sis! I wanted to chime in since you called me out on this blog post. First, I am very proud of all that you have done. You have done a great job of raising your boys and balancing your career with your passions of writing and painting. That is also awesome about loosing the weight and getting your health back on track! I find myself constantly tipping the scale towards my career which leaves both my family, health, and my passions neglected. I have been registering a few domain names for several years now with the intent of starting my own blog, writing the great american app, and promoting my business, but to date – I have no blog, the app is still a work in progress, and other than the occasional – “oh you know how to fix computers” – my business is just an over-complicated tax write-off. So I hear what you are saying…it is very easy to get distracted from the goals in our lives – and having 2 boys myself which cause me at least a month of various cold and flu bugs per year – I totally get it! Hopefully I can make some of those resolutions myself to balance the scale and get the other things in my life back on track. I look forward to more “Deep Thoughts” and general rants on your blog.

    Take care, and Love you!
    Jim

    • dawnblair says:

      Ladies and Gentlemen, my brother! 🙂 Wow! I actually got him to quit lurking. LOL!

      Jim, your boys are young right now and little germ factories. Of course you’re sick all the time — they are bringing everything home to you. Every parent I know deals with this. What gets worrisome is when you’re sick and they are healthy — that’s when you know your system is out of whack.

      There’s also different seasons for your life. Right now, enjoy the season of being a father to your boys. It goes by way too fast. As for the apps, you can go a long ways in just focusing on them for 15-30 minutes a day. Really! I promise. It was harder for me when my boys were young. They took a lot of time. Now they help me out all the time. It takes patience (and you know how patient of a person I am not!). But the wheel of time does turn, so keep plugging away at it. And, focus. Don’t try to build the Great American App — quit trying to please everyone and find the niche. If you need an idea, I have an idea for an app for artists and craftsman that we really need but no one has yet created. I’m not even sure how it could be done — I see it in my head, but I don’t know about the programming — but I need it BAD! 🙂

      Thank you for your compliments. They mean a lot to me.

      Love you too and hug those boys of yours. I miss them so much.

  2. Stacy says:

    I think I’m in on one of your new habits and I’m so glad to have you in my life now. You’re an amazing person.

    • dawnblair says:

      Yes, Stacy, you are most certainly involved with one of my new habits. I love your water aerobics class. It’s so great to be swimming again. And, I am so glad to count you among my friends. Thank you for reminding me to not take everything so seriously and to have fun. You are amazing as well and I love the way your mind thinks. It really is great to have such a like mind to pitch ideas to. Thank you for your support.

Leave a Reply

