Progress 12/05/16

This year, I have been tracking my progress in my writing. I thought it would be interesting to show the numbers on my blog.

Fiction words written last week: 2,185 words – Not very impressive progress this week, but I’ve been getting ready to the Jerome Holiday and Craft Fair. I’d hoped to have my 5th Loki novella, but they didn’t make it. I also had ordered a photography backdrop stand that was to be delivered on Friday, which got delayed in Salt Lake. I had ordered 13 prints to hang, plus had another 5 already on-hand which were to go on the stand, so I had to improvise my PVC banner stand in order to get this work. Things like this dissolve writing time. In retrospect, I wouldn’t have changed it even thought I didn’t sell a single book. I think “the Monster” I had standing behind me garnered enough attention to draw people to my booth. (grin!) Take a look at the photo here to see what I mean. So, back to being more focused next week, after I take care of sending out and delivering all the copies of For More Mischief, Call Loki that I need to get out.

Blogs/Newsletter articles written:  210 words

Writing month to date total: November ended at 22,427 words. That’s not nearly as much as I got done in November last year when I participated in NaNoWriMo, but it was still a good month and I’ve gotten more done this year overall than I have in a long time. December’s total so far is 1,874.

Writing year to date total: 236,636 words

Drawing/painting last week: 0 square inches painted, did a couple sketches in my notebook, created a inked bookmark (I was testing a black Prismacolor marker and found that on both Bristol Board and the paper in my sketchbook, the marker smeared when I went to erase the underlying pencil. Not cool!).

Illustration month to date total: 841 square inches – I have done so little painting this year that I feel almost embarrassed recording it here, but I’m hoping it will motivate me. I really want to do more painting. I like doing the ACEO’s and I want to get better, so get to it, girl! That’s the lecture that keeps running through my head. Maybe if I have to come and record a few zero’s, I’ll re-enforce making it a priority in my life.

Week’s happenings: As I mentioned above, I was at a holiday craft fair, helping to support the Jerome Music Boosters. It was great to see friends I haven’t gotten much to see now that my boys are out of high school. I visited with crafting friends and met new people. The Boosters have done a great job of growing this show — it’s a slow, healthy growth (unfortunately, there are some people who don’t understand that it takes time to build things and slow and steady really is a good course of action. I had a lot of people comment about all the work I have done. At one point during the show, I threw my arms wide as I turned to indicate everything on the table and the Monster behind me and laughed, “This comprises the last nearly 20 years of my life.” Talk to me about slow and steady; I can tell you all about it!) Anyway, I had a good show and hope to have several new fans. I’ll take that type of week any day.

Leave a Reply

