Progress – 12/19/16

Fiction words written last week: 5,326 words

Blogs/Newsletter articles written:  739 words

Writing month to date total: 15,349 words.

Writing year to date total: 250,111 words (Goal reached!)

Drawing/painting last week: 0 square inches painted, but I’ve spent at least 3 times this week sketching in my sketchbook

Illustration month to date total: 841 square inches

Week’s happenings: I set a goal of writing 250,000 words this year. Granted, I set it late in the year because I modified my goals a few times this year. In March, I realized that at the rate I was going, it was going to take me 90 years to reach my writing goals. Yeah, I probably won’t even be alive 90 years from now. Plus, that’s just sad. I had to do something. I set a goal to write 3,000 words per week (which would have been 156,000 words in a year). Then, in July, I realized that was still writing too slow and I upped it to 10,000 words per week. That was really a stretch goal and a few times I made it, but I also knew I could be happy if I got 7,000 done. In November, I had two spreadsheets which reflected the differences in my goals. I hadn’t really added them up to see where I was at — after all, I was going for weekly goals. But then, in November, I did and I decided then that (with how I know that November ends and December is for me at my job) that I would be happy if I got to 250,000 words by the end of the year. One cannot discount writing a quarter of a million words. Especially when for the last month I’ve been rearranging a lot of a couple stories and throwing out words. Sometimes it gets kind of hard to count and keep track of with passages coming and going. My goal for next year is equally ambitious.

Also happening this week, I made a sudden trip between storms to get my son from college. I hadn’t been planning on going when I did, but with the weather being as cold and snowy/icy as it was, when the opportunity opened up, I drove. So he’s been home most of the week and I’ve been spending time with the family, which accounts for my lower word count this week.

I also worked on 4 hours of audio, not including some rearranging and testing time. Yeah, my Whisper Room has got to be the most expensive part of my house and I wish it would start to pay its rent! Finally, at long last, I think I’m finally getting the sound that I want. Of course, I could change my mind on this tomorrow. I hope not. I really do feel like I’m finally getting somewhere with it.

The cold has been hampering my efforts too. I really wanted to paint over the weekend, but it didn’t happen because any time I was away from the heater, my hands and feet would get cold fast. I don’t handle cold. Yeah, so why am I living in Idaho? Because I can’t afford to be a snowbird yet! I dream of that day though.

Well, as we approach Christmas, I hope everyone has a safe and joyful holiday. I’m planning on spending the day playing video games with my children and probably taking a nap. Hopefully I’ll also get some writing done. Yes, I do write on the holidays too. It’s my chance to escape to another world and I will take every moment I can.

Happy holidays.

Leave a Reply

