Progress – 12/26/16

Fiction words written last week: 2,637 words

Blogs/Newsletter articles written:  585 words

Writing month to date total: 18,571 words.

Writing year to date total: 253,333 words I’d really like to see myself reach 260,000 by the end of the year. Wouldn’t that be cool?

Drawing/painting last week: 0 square inches painted – one of my presents to me was a chair that I could put by the heater. I have plans to paint now. I know that this probably doesn’t make sense to anyone (how does a chair in front of a heater equal more painting?), but trust me, it does. If I can keep my feet warm while I work, my artistic life will be so much better. Believe me, when I get cold, all I can do is focus on getting warm. Too many times that means me hibernating under blankets (a.k.a going to sleep) or just sitting in front of the heater until my back and legs go numb and I am just too old to be sitting on the floor for that long anymore. Of course, time will tell how this really works out.

Illustration month to date total: 841 square inches

Week’s happenings: The weather certainly didn’t help me get my words in last week. I spent more time driving (slowly through the snow and ice) than I usually do. Therefore, I had less time to spend at the keyboard. Holiday shopping (yeah, I’m one of those last minute shoppers, though I am improving and did do quite a bit of it in October this year — not that it helped me any, but that’s another story) also ate into my time. I hung some lights this year inside the house. Then I spent Christmas Day with my kids. We played video games, board games, watched Sherlock, etc. I did get a little bit of audio work done in the morning before everyone was awake, but I didn’t get to writing — bad me, I slept in.

Speaking of audiobooks, I put in just over 4 hours recording and editing.

I have also been trying to work on my January story release. I realized while re-reading it that I was actually trying to tell two stories instead of one. I had to take out all the parts that belonged to the second story. I was really glad that I heard the change in the voice, subtle as it was. Repairs have been made to the first, so I hope it flows well. I haven’t had a chance to do a second read through to find out.

Also, I had two magazine rejections this week. Really? One magazine had the story for five months (when they typically respond in three). Merry Christmas to you too! I’m sure the editors just wanted to be through their piles before the holidays. It’s just a good thing I don’t take rejections harshly anymore. It’s a no to the work, not to me. Besides, in this day and age, it’s so easy to put the story out yourself and give it directly to the readers. But there are still reasons to go for publishing in a magazine. So, the one story that was out for five months will go back out into the circuit this week (only because I didn’t have time to get it done last week). The other story was a children’s story and I think I might just try to do it myself. For those of you waiting for my egg story, you’re probably laughing at me saying this. Yeah, yeah… so many books, so little time. But with my new chair and the heater to keep my feet warm, watch me go.

Leave a Reply

