Progress – 01/30/17

Fiction words written last week: 3,351 words

Blogs/Newsletter articles written:  2,159 words

Writing month to date total: 21,515 words.

Writing year to date total: 21,515 words.

Drawing/painting last week: 0 square inches painted.

Illustration year to date total: 131.25 square inches.

Audio: I spent almost 4 hours last week editing and recording audio. I’ve been merging in corrections and doing quality control checks on 2 tracks. I’ve encountered spots that need additional corrections. Recording my own audiobooks is certainly not the easy thing I initially thought it would be. I enjoy the recording, but the audio clean up is a booger. I can only hope that as I get more experienced, I get cleaner at the recording end. I really think I need to go and get some more voice over training (yes, I have done some before I started this whole adventure — when I’ve wanted to do something, I never hesitate to go out and seek some experience, but I usually jump into the middle instead of starting at the beginning. Yes, I’m pretty sure that if I was a character, that would be one of my fatal flaws). Experience is always good too and I know that I’m getting that because of the things that my ear is picking up when I’m listening and because I’m getting faster at editing and knowing what I’m looking for when I hear a certain noise.

Week’s happenings: This week I haven’t gotten as much done as I would have hoped. I did get all my own personal bookkeeping caught up. Also got my books delivered for The Last Ant, so that was exciting. But I’ve put in a lot of hours on my day job. It’s January; what else can I say? It’s to be expected. I’ve also been piecing Onesong back together and it feels like I’ve been stitching up Frankenstein’s monster. Fortunately, I’m nearly done there. I also started to set up The Doorway Prince for pre-order. Then, through my tiredness, I realized that I don’t even have the manuscript finished yet and am in no way ready to get it set up for pre-orders. I do like to be a little further along. Maybe by next weekend. Let me get past January first! Then, as the year progresses, I really do hope to get ahead of a lot of my writing instead of just barely managing to keep up to it. I know I’ve been releasing a lot of shorter stories now, but I will be releasing at least two novels this year along with another Loki. The Doorway Prince is nearly equal in length to 1-800-Mischief, so it’s on the low side of a novella. In some ways, I really like that length — it doesn’t feel overwhelming. On the other hand, Sacred Knight just seems to keep going and going. If you noticed my word count above for my blogs/newsletter articles this week, you’ll see that it’s really pretty high. That’s because I wrote a blog that I have yet to post, and in writing that, I came up with two characters, and one of those characters also reminded my of Brynne from The Three Books and as I got to thinking about him, my writing brain went to work on Brynne’s story. Did you just feel the Sacred Knight universe expand? Yeah, it was kind of like that for me too. At least my mind has only started working a little bit on it. I feel the wheels turning. It is only a matter of time before Brynne gets all grumpy in my head and I learn his story. I’m kind of excited to find out why he hates Steigan like he does.I think it’ll be entertaining. So, while I might not have had a productive writing week, I have been busy planting seeds. Harvest will come soon. For writers, that never feels like soon enough,

 

Leave a Reply

