Progress – 02/27/17

Fiction words written last week: 3,205 words

Blogs/Newsletter articles written:  791 words

Writing month to date total: 23,310 words.

Writing year to date total: 45,467 words.

Drawing/painting last week: 0 square inches painted.

Illustration year to date total: 131.25 square inches.

Audio: I spent 7.5 hours on editing  and recording audio. This didn’t include time that I spent with some experiments I ran this week — I’m psychotically trying to get a better, cleaner sound so that I spend less time editing and, well, I’m getting a little frustrated at being unable to solve the problem. I also spent time out shopping for things for my booth (I suspect part of my issue was my chair — it was sturdy, but too high and it put me at an angle where I had a little crunch in my abdomen when I was sitting in it. Sitting on the edge of the seat so that my feet were on the floor was not comfortable either. So, I found a new chair which I will try out this week, but I had to also get little blocks of wood to put under the chair to get me that extra inch of height I needed. Then that mean gluing felt onto the wood for sound absorption. Yeah, there’s more to that story too, but this already feels like “If you give a mouse a cookie…” so I won’t go on). I also played with Adobe Audition (might I say, “wow!”) and learned to use it as well as began a mastering process that I’m tinkering with the settings for.

Week’s happenings: As you can see, I spent time tinkering with audio this week. The word count is way down mostly because of that, but partially because of other events too. I have been reading the 4th book in the Sacred Knight series and adding more detail. I love seeing it come together as I loop back through it. Someday I hope I’ll learn to do smaller loops, but for now, I have to write how I write, which for me means that I write the whole dang book going back only to add snippets here and there that I need, then going back through making sure I’ve gotten everything in order. I just don’t feel comfortable until I’ve read the whole thing through to make sure it’s logical. I also released the print versions of History of a Dead Man (though errors have already been found so I will have to go back and fix some spots) and The Doorway Prince, which I believe is clean and good, but I’ve just started reading that for an audiobook, so who knows what I will find there. I keep reminding myself that just because the words aren’t getting written doesn’t mean that production isn’t happening. Just because I want it all done now and I have more stories that I want to write at the moment than I have time for doesn’t mean that it won’t get done. When you work full-time, write, publish, voice act, audio engineer, web design, blog, paint, and long to work on comics and animation, that’s a lot to pack into a week. There are only 168 hours in a week and I do need to sleep sometime (Really???! Who thought needing rest would be a good thing?) In a couple of conversations I’ve had this week, other people have joked about second jobs. Yeah, whatever. No, seriously though, I don’t consider writing or recording of the audiobooks as work. Everything else might be (well, okay, not painting, but as we both know I haven’t gotten to do any of that in a while), but my storytelling is my escape. I get to be my characters and I get to play with them all. I get to be entertained by whatever floats around in my mind. Who else gives themselves that kind of fun? Not ordinary people, I’ll tell you. (grin) But, of course, that’s why I share my stories: so the normal people can have fun too. It’s a win-win situation. Now, leave me alone so I can get back to my imagination! (kidding!) (maybe not) (who knows?) (not me) (do you?) See you all next week!

Leave a Reply

