Progress – 03/20/17

Fiction words written last week: 2,352 words

Blogs/Newsletter articles written:  297 words

Writing month to date total: 13,986 words

Writing year to date total: 60,631 words.

Drawing/painting last week: 0 square inches painted.

Illustration year to date total: 131.25 square inches.

Audio: I spent nearly 9 hours on recording and editing  audio.

Week’s happenings: The Last Ant finally published to audiobook outlets. It sounds better than Fractured Echo, but I’m still unsettled about how it changes once it goes through the final processing. Maybe it’s just me. Anyway, I’ve spent a significant amount of time working on The Doorway Prince and getting the audio ready for it. I’m only about halfway through recording it, and a quarter of the way through editing it. Considering how much time it use to take me to edit audio, I am definitely finding Adobe Audition as a huge time saver. Considering the difference in the audio quality of Fractured Echo to The Last Ant, I’m happy that I made the switch too. Let me just say that it seems pretty cool to be able to say that I’m an audiobook narrator now too. It feels “more official.” (grin) I am really looking forward to this summer when I can kick out The Three Books and 1-800-Mischief as audiobooks too. Chances are, though, I’m going to have to re-record them. I don’t know. I still need to go back and listen tot he audio files I have and see how they sound.

Yeah, so I’ve been really kicking it on the audio side as you can tell. Writing, not so much. I’ve been trying to get to doing the edits on a few stories but that hasn’t happened. I’ve been reading the fourth book in the Sacred Knight series. But I just haven’t been in the mood to write. I tell myself that’s a falsehood — that I should just start writing, but every time I open a document, I just sit there and stare at it. It’s easier to go work on other things that really need maintenance, like my website or posting blogs. In the back of my mind, I hear Loki rattling his cage. He wants out. He’s been quiet for a couple months, let me work on other projects. Such is his routine. I start hearing him in my mind, feeling the serpent essence crawling around through me and in my life, and I know he is about to strike. Maybe I am resting before the storm. I’d really like it if he’d let me finish the fourth Sacred Knight. It now feels like a race to the finish line and we shall have to see who wins.(Probably Loki!)  I feel him tempting me back to the file that I started for the next novella. Just open it, read through it, that’s all I have to do. I don’t have to work on it now, just get it back in my mind. But I know what happens if I crack that door! Chaos ensues. I’ll be back to writing at 3:30 in the morning because I can’t stop. Right now, I don’t have time or energy for that. Yes, now I can feel it: Steigan struggling against the chains that Loki has him in. Can you hear the clink as Steigan rushes forward and the chains tighten with a heavy clank? Loki steps closer, the tempting smile, the chill reaching me without a touch. I feel his shadow cross over me. He comes and I am helpless to resist.

DRAMA QUEEN!

I saw a tagline on a writer’s website last week that read something to the effect of “I will lie to you and you will like it.” Yes, my little sidetrip above may have seemed like a bit of storytelling drama, but that is exactly what it feels like to have characters vying for attention. And I enjoy being able to entertain their struggles in my head. I don’t have a schedule or a timeline or even a deadline. I just write what suits me. And, if I don’t write for a week, I know that I will be pounding away hard at the keyboard some other time. It’s a cycle. I trust the process.

In other news, my son came home from college for spring break late last week, so that might be the other reason I didn’t get any words done since he’s been back. I’d rather be spending my time with him. Still, he knows that writing is important to me and would allow me the time if I needed it. Again, the mood just isn’t there, so I’m happy to give the time to him. He did give me time to record; “I’ll be in my room, making no noise, and pretending I don’t exist,” was his quote. Thanks, Harry Potter! The point is that I could have found time to write if I’d wanted it.

I hope you all have enjoyed Part 1 of The Doorway Prince on my blog. Part 2 will be posted this week, so be sure to finish up Part 1 before it goes away. Next week, the third and final part will be posted. Then we’ll get started on By the Numbers, the story of one of the side characters from The Doorway Prince. I certainly hope that if you enjoy my writing, you share it with friends you feel might like it too. A writer’s work is only completed when someone reads it.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

