Progress – 03/27/17

Fiction words written last week: 8,715 words

Blogs/Newsletter articles written:  902 words

Writing month to date total: 23,603 words

Writing year to date total: 70,248 words.

Drawing/painting last week: 0 square inches painted.

Illustration year to date total: 131.25 square inches.

Audio: I spent nearly 9 hours on recording and editing  audio for the second week in a row.

Week’s happenings: Even with my child home for Spring Break, I still managed to get 9 hours of audio and nearly 10,000 words of writing done. Yes, I got to spend good time with my son and even managed to get 7.5-8 hours of sleep per night. No, I wasn’t on vacation from my regular job either. I just made it happen. It’s funny that when you set your mind to doing something, the way is made.

It did help that I started a new story. No, it wasn’t Loki pestering me. I think I mentioned  last week that I wanted to work on my Dragons of Wellsdeep story (sorry, I’m not really sure if I did or not and I don’t feel like going back to look – bad me!). The characters from that novel came into this new story. It’s the second time I’ve mentioned Moonhunter in a story — the first being in The Doorway Prince. I feel as if I’m writing a timeline of this character without actually writing his novel. I pounded out over 7,000 of this new story in just three days. The rest of the word count for the week came from working on the fourth Sacred Knight story. I really wish I’d discover the title for it. I’ve been trying to do that as well as come up with a cover design. Maybe this last week hasn’t really been a good time to focus on that with so much going on.

The audio for The Doorway Prince is coming along, except for one whole track where I mispronounce a character’s name. I’m debating whether to merge it in or to re-record the whole track. So, I’m playing with Adobe Audition and continuing to learn new tricks. I’m always amazed at what it can do.

I’m hoping to get some drawing done this week. Something about spring always makes me want to start sketching. I’ve been reading Terry Goodkind’s Debt of Bones this week and enjoying the sketches in the book. I have plans for what I’d like to do with the Sacred Knight series, but it feels like I’ll never get there. If I don’t get better at drawing, that will certainly be true. I don’t want it to be true. I want to succeed with my ideas for it.

I did also finish up reading Diana Wynne Jones’ Howl’s Moving Castle. I’m in the middle of listening to Enchanted Glass, also by Jones, and it reminds me more of the Chrestomaci series.

There were a lot of things I didn’t get done this week. I have a lot of corrections to make to books, but that hasn’t been happening. Again, I hope to get to it this next week. There always seems to be more work to be done and more things I want to do. I keep reminding myself that the writing it the most important. I am a storyteller and that’s what I do. That’s what makes me happy. As I’ve been writing the longest, it is the easiest form for me to use to tell a story. Audio really is next on the list. It’s a lot of work, but I love where it has made me explore and stretch my skills. Drawing takes the longest for me, which is probably why I don’t find the time to work on comics as much as I’d like — again, something I hope to change very shortly, but we shall see what really happens. I still have a great desire to tell great stories and draw beautiful pictures to go with them. That was a goal I realized a decade ago and I’ve never quite been able to let it go.

No matter how productive one can be during the week, when someone loves what they do, it still never feels like quite enough. There is always more to be done. That is why the journey must be enjoyed and celebrated. Thank you for joining with me on my journey and sharing my experiences. I hope that my weekly progress entertains and inspires you. The path is always better with a friend along to walk it with you.

Leave a Reply

