Progress – 04/10/17

Fiction words written last week: 3,586 words

Blogs/Newsletter articles written:  977 words

Writing month to date total: 5,803 words

Writing year to date total: 82,892 words.

Drawing/painting last week: 0 square inches painted.

Illustration year to date total: 131.25 square inches.

Audio: I spent 8.5 hours on recording and editing  audio.

Week’s happenings:  I’m off my rhythm. It feels like nothing has gone quite right this last week. Nothing major, but just enough to make me feel off. Just weird. I sketched in my sketchbook last week. Nothing amazing. Stupid stuff actually. I felt depressed for a couple of days. My weekly routine is off. Yeah, it’s just been unusual.

To top it all off, I’ve been trying to work on clean-up edits for Fractured Echo, History of a Dead Man, The Doorway Prince, and By the Numbers. Somewhere in all that I thought I needed to do edits for The Last Ant, but I seem to have gotten that done at some point. My head is just spinning with trying to keep track of where I’m at. Remember I did mention I have several projects going last week; well, that hadn’t included these titles where I was trying to get rid of little errors and such. I had to start a spreadsheet to keep track of myself. There are just too many titles where I think I’m done but then I find an issue that needs fixed so I have to fix it, recreate all the PDF, epub, mobi, etc. files that need done, then get them uploaded across all the sites where I have accounts. There are so many steps now that it’s no wonder I get a little confused.

If you haven’t taken a moment to read the first part of Ninjas: By the Numbers, I suggest you do so before Wednesday when it goes away.

I had a big realization that just because I know the reasons and the appropriate types of people behind some of the scenes in the 4th Sacred Knight book, that doesn’t mean my characters would know. Especially since that knowledge has been kept from the people for so long. Yeah, that meant I had to delete scenes and rewrite to fill in gaps. I feel more  scenes to come. I’m still aiming for 90,000 words on the manuscript.

I also thought this week about rebranding the covers of the Sacred Knight series. I like the fonts, but I wonder if they wouldn’t sell better if I used photographs instead of art. I’m thinking of mocking up some covers to try. Time, where are you!

My oldest son also took me to Boise this weekend to see Your Name. It’s a very good movie. I didn’t see the major twist coming. As a storyteller, I can usually see what’s going to happen before everyone else. Yes, some of it I did see. The movie had a lot of foreshadowing. But it still got me! I love it when a story surprises me. If you aren’t use to watching anime, don’t be fooled that it’s “just a cartoon.” It’s not. The coloring of this movie is amazing. Yeah, I’d put it on my “watch again” list.

I sense that the next two weeks are going to be amuck too. If I can get figure out these edits and where I’m at with all of them without messing the whole thing up, then maybe I can progress forward and feel like I’m getting somewhere.

Leave a Reply

