Progress – 05/22/17

Fiction words written last week: 743 words

Blogs/Newsletter articles written:  1,659 words

Writing month to date total: 17,436 words

Writing year to date total: 121,590 words.

Drawing/painting last week: 0 square inches painted.

Illustration year to date total: 131.25 square inches.

Audio: I spent 6+ hours on recording and editing  audio.

Week’s happenings:  After fighting last weekend to get my MP3’s on my phone via iTunes, I finally got it synced. Then I ended up spending all the normal time I’d spend on writing listening to the audio. That’s why my word count is very low. When I did write, it wasn’t very productive. I do still have some audio for a story that demanded that I get it started rather than listening to The Doorway Prince, but I haven’t taken a moment to transcribe it. So, I do have a few extra words there — not that it’s going to make up for anything. I also did work on the 5th Sacred Knight book, but I didn’t count the words for it. I killed Aeribela off (again) in the most gruesome way. It just kind of happened. I’m pretty sure it wasn’t. I kind of feel like the Prince of Persia game where when the character dies, he says, “Wait, that didn’t happen.” Don’t worry. I don’t think Aeribela’s really dead. As I recall, I was setting her up for an important scene; I just don’t remember what that was. I’m sure than when I go back to re-read I’ll remember what it was and start again. Besides, I’ve killed Martias off at least three times and we see how well that’s worked out for me. I’ve killed Keteria off a couple of times — again, not any death that has been permanent for long. I’ve even killed Sim and Lucinia off in one draft of what is now the 5th book. Oh, Arlyn too. Don’t get me wrong — there is a character that dies in Prince of the Ruined Land and he is dead-dead. By the same token, I won’t go all George R.R. Martin all over my characters. But some characters will have to die. And, what I do find scary about Aeribela’s death scene which I wrote last week, it’s all perfectly plausible and set up earlier. My timing might just be off. Anyway, I didn’t count the words because at this point I don’t think they are staying.

I did also get the print version of The Three Books all revised and settled. It is out with the newly updated cover.

Even though I spend so much time listening to the audio for The Doorway Prince (which is not included in the 6 hours I have listed above), I don’t know if it will be completed in May. I’ve got a lot of small issues to work out. There is a part of me that wants to re-record the whole thing. I’m refusing to do that. I’ve already spent so much time editing. But, I do have several things to correct. The Drifter’s voice was a work in progress thoughout. I did have to re-record his lines for two tracks in the book because of the difference. I also went back and re-recorded Eclipse’s voice for the first few tracks because I dropped it severally later on without realizing I’d done that. Yeah, I’m definiately learning how to be a good narrator. I admit that I didn’t put too much effort into differentiating the voices in either Fractured Echo or The Last Ant, I had worked on it quite a bit in trying to record 1-800-Mischief and The Three Books. I can pretty much do all the voices for The Three Books without much thought because I’ve done them so many times that it’s becoming natural. But with The Doorway Prince, I started off not intending to do too much vocal work for the characters, but then I got into it and started developing the characters out to how I heard them in my head. Thus, now I’m having to go back and fix. And that’s why there’s a part of me that wants to say, “One more time, eh!”

Then, on Saturday I did a show in Burley, Idaho. I tried to write at the show, but I just couldn’t get into it. I probably should have taken my paints. That might have worked out better.

Sunday I thought I’d get caught up and get a bunch of writing done. I was just too tired to work, so I didn’t. I kept telling myself I really needed to focus and get something done, but I just couldn’t. I didn’t even have the energy to let myself get distracted. I just sat there. I finally went off to get some reading done. When my energy is that low, I’m better off not forcing it. I tell myself it’s okay because I’ve already written over 120,000 words this year — most people who want to call themselves writers can’t manage that and I’m certain that I didn’t manage that many most years. Speaking of which, I did also spend some time refocusing on what I want to accomplish. I have my goals set out for this year, but what would I like to see happen in 5 or 10 years? Still working on that. At least I’m getting started thinking forward.

Hopefully, I’ll be re-energized this week.

 

Leave a Reply

