Progress – 06/12/17

Fiction words written last week: 9,131 words

Blogs/Newsletter articles/non-fiction written:  1,649 words

Writing month to date total: 18,032 words

Writing year to date total: 151,250 words.

Drawing/painting last week: 0 square inches painted.

Illustration year to date total: 131.25 square inches.

Audio: I spent 7 hours editing  audio. More on this below too.

1-800-Mischief audiobook

Week’s happenings:  From the cover picture above, can you tell what’s coming? Yes, I hope to have the audio for 1-800-Mischief uploaded to ACX by the end of the month. I had previously recorded the audio and so far it sounds solid enough that I’m going to use it.  I figure I’m almost halfway through editing it right now — still some touch ups to make, but it’s coming along nicely.

In doing the cover for the audio version of 1-800-Mischief, I decided to go back and redo the covers for the series. In uploading the new ebook files to the various distributors, I had an issue with Amazon. When I looked at one of the ebook files, I realized that what was filed in my computer as For More Information, Call Loki, was really For A Good Time, Call Loki. It looks like other distributors had this issue. So, if you open up For More Information and think, “Hey, wait a minute, I already read this,” please go back to the bookseller and download it again. The issue has been fixed. I’m really hoping that I had never actually uploaded the bad mobi file to Amazon — I suspect I got my wires crossed when I was making a correction somewhere, but I honestly don’t know what Amazon had previously.

Bugger!

Anyway, I haven’t updated the print books yet, but that will be coming next week. Here’s a look at all the covers together:

The Loki Adventuresget the complete arc now.

I have much to go back and fix with them. I keep thinking about how much technology has progressed in the last few years since I started publishing the ebooks. I really need a week to just dig in and focus on preparing the files again so they are all uniform. But that’s not going to happen as quickly as I’d like. I’d do better off focusing on one at a time.  That’s hard when you’re trying to move forward all the time too.

It’s enough to make a person feel mentally and physically exhausted.

I’ve been working on a story I’ve given the code name “Siva” to because I don’t have the title for the book yet and it’s rolling along. I suspect it will be A Wells of the Onesong Love Story. I like my character, but I’m still trying to get a handle on her. I have a few things to go back and thread in.

Another story which was supposed to be short and which has now grown to over 20,000 words I suspect will turn into a novel.

Then there’s Loki. It’s coming along nicely. I wish it wasn’t relating back to the series so much, but I kind of feel that it’s inevitable until I get a little further along.

Broken Smiles is set up for pre-order with a release date of June 27, 2017.

Still waiting for the audiobook files for The Doorway Prince to finish publishing. I’m hoping it will be this week.

It’s really amazing me because I thought I was focusing and working hard before, but I think I was just making myself busy. I’m getting so much more done now that I’m focused. I can’t even say what the key was specifically. I just wanted to be better than I was. Definitely a work in process, but I feel like I’m getting somewhere. Finally.

And I still have more to go.

Leave a Reply

