Progress – 06/26/17

Fiction words written last week: 12.424 words

Blogs/Newsletter articles/non-fiction written:  1,307 words

Writing month to date total: 46,027 words

Writing year to date total: 179,245 words.

Drawing/painting last week: 0 square inches painted.

Illustration year to date total: 131.25 square inches.

Audio: I spent 10 hours editing audio. More below.

Week’s happenings:  As you can see, I didn’t get as many words written this week as last week, though it was close. I’m really hoping to hit 50,000 words by the end of this month. I often tell myself that non-writers probably don’t care about my word count — it probably has no meaning. Here’s a simple explanation for you non-writers. A basic, double-spaced manuscript page has about 250 words on average. So, saying that I wrote 50,000 words equates to 200 pages. My fiction word count above of 12,424 comes in at just over 49 pages. Yeah, non-writers don’t care. I understand. Boring, yawn. (grin)

Can I just add that I’m now up at day 19 in my writing streak for hitting a daily word count?

Now, I did finish merging in all my corrections for 1-800-Mischief, so now all I have to do is listen to it to make sure I don’t catch any more last minute items, then listen to it again as an MP3 file to make sure that it really is good. Then I upload to ACX. I am really trying to push to get this done this week so it’ll be out by mid-July. I also started recording The Three Books (Sacred Knight Legend 1) again. Yeah, how many times can I read that first chapter. I think I’ve now recorded it about as many times as I spent writing it (almost!). I might have to pause and record Stardust before I continue. Something about that story makes me want to record it now and have it all released together, but I don’t know if I can have it done and edited in two weeks. That might be pushing it with trying to get Loki done. We’ll see though.

Speaking of Loki, I’m about halfway through the next story. I’m hoping it will actually be novel length. Of course, he might tell me to wrap it up. I never know. But, it will be a complete stand-alone story.

I also worked on Dragons of Wellsdeep this week. Moonhunter is quickly working to be one of my favorite characters, which is a good thing since I now have three stories that revolve around him. It’s kind of funny, but if you take Loki’s love of driving along with his curiosity about life, mix in Steigan’s pure champion heart, you’ve got Moonhunter. He is really a calming influence between those two.

And, moving right along to Steigan, I brought Aeribela back from the dead. I didn’t lose all the words that I had written when I ended up killing her off. I found the spot in the manuscript where I obviously went the wrong way, split it off, and carried on. I re-read through the entire manuscript that I had going and added a lot of material. In fact, my word count from two days came from doing that alone, so I added a lot. It was good to refresh myself with the story. I am so excited to be back in Steigan’s world and continuing his story. I made a few additional notes for Onesong (Rivic’s part of the tale) because I know I still have more to flesh out there, even though that story is mostly done. This is a massive tale and I keep reminding myself to take it one bite at a time. I’ve had a lot of false roads with this story, enough to fill four more books I’m sure, but I know to trust my gut and go back when it tells me I’m not writing the story correctly.

I also got a lot done of the story I mentioned last week code named Siva. I know its a romance and there’s a part of me still resisting that, for too many reasons on so many levels, but I feel I have to write it. Then maybe I’ll feel better about releasing a couple romances I have sitting on my back shelf too, even if they do need some work.

Also this week I touched up my cover for Stardust, my current Wednesday read. I’m not posting the new cover here, but you can check it out here. I am really pretty excited about it. I appreciate all the people that have been sharing it around.

Well, it’s a new week, so I better get started with my new word count so I can keep telling you stories.

Read on!

Leave a Reply

