Onesong – Chapter One

I’d been considering what I wanted to run this week and the answer was that I really didn’t have anything I wanted to post right now. I didn’t want to feel rushed to finish a story, even though I’ve got several near completion.

Then, I thought about Onesong. I’ve been longing to get this one done and released, but it always seems to sit on the back burner. Longtime followers may remember this one as being the book I worked on during NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month – takes place every November and to “win” a writer must complete 50,000 words in a month — great if you need to get out of your own way and write. See nanowrimo.org if you want more details) a couple years ago. Then, I realized I’d actually been working on two books and had to split them apart (that was fun — not!). I’ve completely drafted Onesong, but there are still a few holes that I need to fill in. So, maybe to spur me along, I thought I’d release a few chapters. I won’t promise to do the whole book here, though it would free up a little over 6 months of wondering what I’m going to post every week. Who knows, maybe I will. If you like the story (yes, that means hitting the like button and or sharing), I’m likely to keep going. Incentive for you and incentive for me.

At this point, this story is still at a drafted stage. It hasn’t been completely filled in, plumped up, or proofread except for me going back through it as needed. Still, it’s close enough that I think you’ll get a good read. Especially this first chapter. OMG! I get chills every time I read it. You’ll have to let me know if you do too.

I’m using the cover that I mocked up for NaNoWriMo.

I should also mention that this story is about Rivic, which my boys lovingly call the prequel to the prequel of my Sacred Knight story. If you’ve read The Three Books, then you will have heard about Rivic. If you haven’t, no worries — this is a completely standalone story. Until the later chapters, there won’t even be any spoilers for those of you who haven’t read Prince of the Ruined Land. Since that accounts for two people in the world right now, no worries. Again, we’ll see if I even make it that far before. Remember to share with everyone you know to keep me going. Make sure all your friends start at the beginning along with you so you don’t have to catch them up.

Let’s get to it, shall we?

Enjoy!

Onesong is an epic fantasy story filled with action, adventure, and sword and sorcery. Chapter 1 is available for 1 week only! Then, it will turn back into a pumpkin and a new chapter will appear! 

UPDATE: I am extending this for 1 more week (until August 2, 2017) to give more people a chance to get started reading. Please share and let others know it’s out here.

Onesong

Onesong

by Dawn Blair

Chapter 1

This chapter of Onesong was available for two weeks only and has now turned back into a pumpkin. If you missed it, click on the links below to find it or another great story to read. There’s also another free story or story excerpt somewhere around my blog – I try to post something new every Wednesday. Hunt the story down, read, and enjoy!

Since this is the prequel to the Sacred Knight series, try out The Three Books – Legend 1 of the Sacred Knight series.

Onesong – copyright © 2017 Dawn Blair

Published by Morning Sky Studios
Cover and layout copyright © 2017 by Morning Sky Studios
Cover design by Dawn Blair/Morning Sky Studios
Cover art copyright © Dawn Blair

One Response to Onesong – Chapter One

  1. […] Chapter 1. You really helped to spread the word. Because you all were so delightful about it, I’m going to keep chapter 1 running for one more week. So be sure to let everyone know that chapter 2 is available, but you an also start reading the story […]

Leave a Reply

